Log in



   Password forgotten ?
Untitled Document

In February 2019 our beloved and well-respected colleague Jürgen Friedrichs passed away at the age of 80. Jürgen was for many years an active member of the Coordination Committee of ENHR, chair of the Poverty neighbourhoods Working Group, a reviewer of the Bengt Turner award papers and a frequent participant of the ENHR conferences. Jürgen stepped down as a member of the Coordination Committee at the meeting in Delft in April 2018. ENHR Chair Peter Boelhouwer and close friend and colleague George Galster remember him.

Our Colleague Ronald van Kempen, professor of Urban Geography at the Faculty of Geosciences of Utrecht University, passed away on Sunday 21st February 2016. He was a well-known member of the ENHR, served as a Vice-Chair (2000-2004) and was a member of the Coordination Committee (1996-2004). For many years he was one of the coordinators of the Working Groups "Metropolitan Dynamics: Urban Change, Market and Governance" and "Minority Ethnic Groups and Housing" (and its predecessors). Our memories of him will be with us. Some of them are collected in this book of memories.

In 2010 Christine Whitehead and Lawrence Teeland, two persons who were very actively involved in ENHR, stepped down from the Coordination Committee and the ENHR Office respectively. The farewell included a book of memories.

Have a look into the books: Christine Whitehead & Lawrence Teeland

In 2013 the European Network for Housing Research (ENHR) celebrates its 25th anniversary. This video gives an impression of the ENHR conferences which have been organised all over Europe in these past 25 years.


During the late 1980s, social science research on housing had become more and more international in outlook and perspective. A number of new journals had appeared. Several large and quite successful international research conferences had been held, such as the International Research Conference on Housing Policy in Gävle (Sweden) in 1986 and the Research Conference on Housing, Policy and Urban Innovation in Amsterdam (the Netherlands) in 1988.

Out of these events had grown a recognition of the increasing need for a more structured cooperation between social scientists in different countries, particularly in the European context. The European Network for Housing Research (ENHR) was therefore established after the Amsterdam conference to provide an organizational platform for institutions and individuals in both Eastern and Western Europe, who are actively engaged in housing research. The Network was primarily directed towards the social sciences, but also welcomed institutions and individuals in other disciplines, whose research is oriented towards, or is of relevance to, social science housing research.

ENHR was officially founded in 1988. Bengt Turner (chairman, SE), Hugo Priemus (NL) and Lennart Lundqvist (secretary, SE) were the ENHR pioneers. Together with Frans Dieleman (NL), Dan Ferrand-Bechman (FR), Iván Tosics (HU), Helmut Wollman (DE), Michael Harloe (UK), Duncan Maclennan (UK) and Christine Whitehead (UK) they formed the Coordination Committee.

The ENHR Secretariat was located at the National Swedish Institute for Building Research and was moved to the University of Uppsala in Sweden in 1994 as the National Swedish Institute for Building Research was closed down and a new social science institution for housing and urban issues was formed at the Uppsala University. Since the beginning of 2011 the ENHR Office (as the secretariat is now called) is located at OTB Research Institute for the Built Environment at the Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands.

A select group of researchers from Europe were invited to become a member of ENHR and the first ideas for the launch of several Working Groups were considered. The first ENHR-newsletter was published in 1989. It mentioned that at that time ENHR had 23 founding (institutional) members and 10 Working Groups. At the end of 2011, ENHR had nearly 100 (associate) institutional members and 23 Working Groups (in preparation).

In the summer of 1990 officially the first major ENHR conference after ENHR’s inception took place in Paris, France. The theme was ‘Housing debates, urban challenges’. With approx. 600 participants the conference was a great success. Since then over 20 ENHR-conferences were organised. In June, 1991 the first meeting of the General Assembly took place. At that meeting the ENHR Charter was adopted. The first meeting of Young Housing Researchers was held in London, Great Britain in 1994.

In 2007 the founder of ENHR, Bengt Turner, unexpectedly died. It was a great loss and to keep the memory of him alive and to honour his many contributions to the ENHR, the Bengt Turner Award was introduced. In 2008 the prize was awarded for the first time.

Professor Peter Boelhouwer (Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands) became the new Chair. In the beginning of 2011 the Office moved to Delft University, with Marietta Haffner as head of the Office. In 2018, during the conference in Uppsala, ENHR's 30th anniversary was reflected upon.